Chad's Silverado

Nergal Avatar
Nergal GB Staff *****

Post by Nergal on Sept 9, 2019 16:21:28 GMT -7

A little over a year ago now, I took up Wardriving as a hobby. It began as a college term project.
Wardriving is the colloquial word used to describe a form of Cyber-Security research which entails using a wireless enabled device and a GPS to calculate the locations and effective ranges of wireless access points.

While there are several practical applications for wardriving, but as a hobbyist I'm simply amassing a large database of Wireless Networks and their approximate (relatively accurate) locations. If you have an Android device and are interested in the activity for any reason, WiGLE offers an incredibly simple way to remove Wardriving's barrier to entry and gamifies what might other be a relatively tedious skill to develop.

Several times I have been asked by friends, why do I even bother performing the recon if I don't actually plan on using the data myself?
1) It's something to do while I'm driving around.
2) An opportunity to troll people.

A pretty well-known way to mess with people is to go to a public place, walk up to someone and ask, in a slightly confused way: <common name>?
If that person happens to actually be a <common name>, you take them by surprise and they worry while trying to remember you and cannot come up with a name.
In the event that the person isn't <common name>, they will deny your inquisition you may apologize, and think nothing of it because thinking you recognize a familiar face in public isn't too uncommon.

What if you could take it a step further? What if you could KNOW a stranger's name, common or not, and pull the same gag but instead of shyly asking if they are <common name> you can excitedly say: <Their Actual Name>! How have you been dude?!

The stars really aligned for this one.
This is the story of "Chad's Silverado":