[Pokemon] When did you start playing Pokemon?

NintendoQuestion
Nergal Avatar
Nergal GB Staff *****

Post by Nergal on Jun 10, 2016 13:28:23 GMT -7

When did you start playing Pokemon? Do you still play?

I started playing Pokemon when I was 6 years old, after having previously been exposed to the show for a few years. I borrowed my friend's copy of Sapphire for a few weeks and then decided I had to get the game for myself.
Pokemon was my gateway into RPG games and it really changed the way I thought about games, it was the first game I had to actively think about how to improve in addition to the actual hours spent grinding away to 'beat' the game which I foolishly considered the important part. Basically it was the game that helped rewire my mind for thinking about stats and calculating risks to strategies as well as resource (in the case of pokemon mostly time) management, not that my priorities are in order according to society just that within a game I know how I should spend my time. 

And I do still play on occasion though not nearly as much. The newer games are getting progressively easier story-wise and though post-games are more expanse I feel as if there is little incentive to keep grinding these newer games.

demonskeith Avatar
demonskeith GB Newbie *

Post by demonskeith on Jun 11, 2016 20:59:08 GMT -7

Back when the games were first released, I got red on Gameboy and then yellow. Then I got the next few game releases as well up to Emerald. After that I really lost interest in the games since the newer games brought little new changes and required you to recollect all the growing pokemon numbers.
Last edited Jun 11, 2016 21:21:40 GMT -7 by Nergal
demarco Avatar
demarco GB Addict ****

DanthEx Avatar
DanthEx GB Staff *****
megannatasha Avatar
megannatasha GB Addict ****
xxdriftingaway Avatar
xxdriftingaway GB Newbie *
DudeThatsErin everywhere. :)
demarco Avatar
demarco GB Addict ****

fantanoice Avatar
fantanoice GB Newbie *